Back to Combat Arms HQ

It is currently Fri Sep 03, 2010 7:09 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 CAHQ Marked as Malicious 
Author Message
Staff Sergeant I
User avatar
Status: Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:46 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Florida
Post CAHQ Marked as Malicious
Update:
I noticed some people were concerned that they could have gotten the virus through our signatures. This is something you will never have to worry about. It is impossible (as in, short of an amazing new exploit that would put every image on the web at risk) to pass malicious code through a simple image. Our signatures were never compromised in any way, although, while the site was marked as malicious, they may not have shown up.

Once again, everything is clean and cleared now and we are very sorry this has happened.

Original:
As you may have noticed, CombatArmsHQ.com has recently been marked as containing malicious code. As soon as I saw this mark, I quickly found out that CAHQ had been compromised. The attack was not directly targeted to harm CAHQ or any of our users. You are not at risk if you visited the site while it was "infected."

To my fellow nerds (just some tech info):
http://blog.unmaskparasites.com/2009/11 ... s-scripts/

I ran the script in a sandbox environment with Wireshark running to see what was actually going on. After purposefully allowing Internet Explorer to run scripts that it said may be malicious, the script attempted to access a domain that was invalid (and therefore, whatever injection was supposed to occur failed). I'm fairly certain this attack is a dying breed and is hardly dangerous unless you're using far outdated web browsers and surfing with the lowest of security settings. Note: this attack failed completely in FireFox and newer versions of IE (7+).

To everyone:
In short, there is no need to worry. This is just a nice little remind that we should all keep our browser up to date and have some simplistic internet security tools. The code has been removed and I've submitted for CAHQ to be reviewed by Google again to remove it's "dangerous" status.

Also, the forums were not compromised in anyway, it was only our main website, CAHQ.
I'm very sorry if this worried anyone. Things should be back to normal shortly.

Edit:
We've been de-listed as a malicious site at this time, thanks for hanging in there :yup:

-Jeremy

_________________


Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:25 pm
Profile WWW
Major II
User avatar
Status: Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 8:56 am
Posts: 2324
Location: Lake Mary, Florida
Clan: Nox Aeterna
Xfire: TriggerNgo
Post Re: CAHQ Marked as Malicious
Thank you for the info Jeremy, you truly are amazing, helped me learn something too! Anyway thanks again!

_________________
Image
Image


Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:41 pm
Profile YIM
First Lieutenant III
User avatar
Status: Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:03 pm
Posts: 1406
Location: NORCAL
Clan: Skullzquad.
Xfire: tupicador
Post Re: CAHQ Marked as Malicious
yeah, I had the feeling that it was some kind of tape worm sucking on this site.

_________________
Image

Image


Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:06 pm
Profile
Lieutenant Colonel V
User avatar
Status: Offline
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 2:40 pm
Posts: 3406
Location: Waterbury, Connecticut
Post Re: CAHQ Marked as Malicious
I'm glad our administrators aren't total idiots like in some forums I know. Good job clearing this up Jeremy.

_________________


Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:52 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Captain I
User avatar
Status: Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 12:30 am
Posts: 1984
Location: Bronx, New York
Clan: None
Xfire: DJay16
Post Re: CAHQ Marked as Malicious
Uhm.... Lmao Much?

Image

_________________


.:SOTW 11 is open with NX Prize!!!:.
Click me for SOTW 11!!!
.:LaTesT:.
Image


Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:58 pm
Profile
Trainee
Status: Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:24 am
Posts: 22
Post Re: CAHQ Marked as Malicious
LOL,
1.) The internet is a big jip.
2.) Hackers are fags.
3.) I really hate idiots. x.x


Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:23 am
Profile
Recruit
Status: Offline
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:59 pm
Posts: 39
Location: New York,NY
Post Re: CAHQ Marked as Malicious
Thanks :yup: when i visit the site my Anti-Virus Microsoft Security Essentials tells me that the site is Malicious and i was like o_O

_________________
Image
Image
Boom! Headshot!


Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:38 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.
Copyright © 2008 CombatArmsForum.net. All Rights Reserved.